Making Banana Pancakes

There is nothing better than pancakes on a Saturday morning.  Well, maybe pancakes with French Press Coffee on a Saturday Morning.  Maple-Syrupy. With butter, if I’m feeling crazy. They bring me back to Saturdays at home as a kid, with nothing to do but watch cartoons and then play in the yard afterwards all day.  I’m a pancake girl.

DSC_0467

As newlyweds, we’ve been trying to get a good use out of all of the beautiful cookbooks we received as gifts. I am always willing to try something with a new twist or spin. Since I’m a pancake girl, and since I’m trying to make what we eat healthier, and, since I love banana bread (and greek yogurt), I ventured out into the banana pancake world. Cue Jack Johnson.

Banana pancakes. I had never had them before last month.  Woah. I was missing out.  I decided to try sprucing up my regular pancake recipe (Thanks, Gramma K. and Mom) with some whole wheat flour, Honey-Vanilla Greek yogurt, and mashed bananas. EXCELLENT decision.

DSC_0459

DSC_0471

Delicious enough to feel decadent and Saturday-delightful.  Healthy enough to eat a stack of them. The thing with pancakes is that I love to make a batch (or doublebatch) and then freeze most of them.  I take two out of the freezer each morning, and my weekend pancake girl love spreads joy throughout my early, weekday mornings.

Suggested toppings: more greek yogurt, peanut butter, applesauce, or classic maple syrup.  We are lucky enough to have a maple syrup farm in the family so we use the authentic stuff.

Here’s to cozy Saturday mornings with pancakes. Spread some pancake love this week.

DSC_0451

DSC_0452

DSC_0456

DSC_0472

DSC_0474

Banana Pancakes (a combo of Grandma Krohn’s recipe and Voskos.com Greek Yogurt Banana Pancakes)

2 eggs (separated)

1 ripe banana, mashed

1 cup Greek Yogurt (or 1 1/2 cups milk, regular or buttermilk if you want!)

1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour (or a combo of white and whole wheat, depending on your taste preference)

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. cinnamon

1 Tb. Sugar (sub. honey)

1/4 cup oil (you can sub. in applesauce or melted butter, depending on how your week was)

Beat egg whites until fluffy.  Set aside.  Mix mashed banana, yogurt, egg yolks, flour, baking powder, soda, salt, cinnamon, honey, until combined.  Add oil. Fold in egg whites (this adds the essential fluff factor). Fry on hot griddle. Serve with topping of choice!

Enjoy with loved ones and a cup of coffee!

2 thoughts on “Making Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

