Let it Snow!

One of my all time favorite Christmas carols is Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Let it Snow! Any song with three exclamation marks in the title is fine by me. I find myself whistling its tune all times of the year. Especially when the weather outside is frightful.

We spent this snowy Minnesota weekend being snuggled in at home.  We ventured out a couple times to get groceries, hang out with my cousin and Aunt as we baked Christmas cookies and jammed out to Christmas radio, and to a date-night dinner, but for the most part, we’ve been relaxing and enjoying early winter time inside. Just a little bit ago (as the snow piled up – I think we’re up to 5 or 6 inches so far today) I saw a little boy building a snowman on his tiny condo porch across from ours. Adorable.

Driving in the snow is messy, to say the least, and I am grateful for my all wheel drive tires!  My anti-lock brakes work – I found out driving down the hill toward West 7th after being out and about this morning.  As Minnesotans get their “snow legs,” sliding around outside on the icy streets, I am happy to watch the flakes fall from our little porch.  When snow falls, it brings a relaxation to my shoulders.  I want to spend hours baking treats and decorating for Christmas. I want to take a nap on our couch with at least three blankets. I want to make spiced apple cider. I want to eat pot roast and cooked carrots for dinner. I can successfully check “all of the above” this weekend! Here’s a snapshot of the baking/decorating/merrymaking I did this weekend!

DSC_0659

The world’s most sticky and delicious caramels in the world! I had to separate them again after this photo in order to wrap them.

Packaging my caramels for presents!

Packaging my caramels for presents.

Peppermint Pinwheel cookies - had a fabulous Friday afternoon baking with my Aunt!

Peppermint Pinwheel cookies. A family recipe my Aunt and I put together on a fabulous cookie baking Friday afternoon.

Our yearly ornaments for each other. Given before Christmas because we are too excited to wait and want to enjoy their whimsy.

This year’s ornament set – My husband and I give each other a special one each year. These are DELIGHTFUL and remind me of the Leg Lamp Lounge bar in my hometown. As well as watching the Christmas Story marathon on tv as a kid. (and let’s be honest, every Christmas season) Nostalgic. Given before Christmas because we are too excited to wait and want to enjoy their whimsy.

Welcome to our place. We sing daily.

Welcome to our place. We sing daily. Buddy The Elf knows.

The McCann Christmas Tree/Shrub. When I put the twig/cranberry star on top at first, it sagged like Charlie Brown's tree. Cute. I know.

The McCann Christmas Tree/Shrub. When I put the twig/cranberry star on top at first, it sagged like Charlie Brown’s tree. Cute. I know.

Our stockings go on the bookshelf since we don't have a fireplace!

Our stockings go on the bookshelf since we don’t have a fireplace!

The nativity set. Ignore the bottle of wine. Actually, Jesus might approve.

The nativity set. Ignore the bottle of wine. Actually, Jesus might approve.

Also, apparently the snowstorm we’re having today is named Winter Storm Caesar.  The weather channel is now naming our storms, like hurricanes. Pfew. There’s something to look forward to this winter!

Time to buckle down and grade some spelling tests as I’m sure (fingers crossed) the City of Saint Paul will be plowing by tomorrow morning. (No rush, plow drivers, the trees are crystal-kissed and beautiful, reaching for the ground as they’re draped in chilly blankets).  They give me something to take pictures of.

DSC_0700

The basil plant on our patio has seen better days.

DSC_0704

Trees watching West 7th Ave.

DSC_0705

This shot reminds me of Narnia! If you peek between the branches of the tree on the left, you can see Mr. Tumnus.

DSC_0709

Snowscape

DSC_0708

The courtyard is begging for a snow angel-maker.

DSC_0710

Every. branch. is covered. The definition of winter. In the dictionary of pretty.

DSC_0712

Just hung the Christmas light strand last night. Great timing!

DSC_0696

Vintage View

Happy Snowstorm Caesar! Stay safe and warm and don’t forget to test your anti-lock brakes!

One thought on “Let it Snow!

Leave a Reply

