HoneyButterSwirl Bread

Sometimes there is nothing like homemade bread to warm up a perpetual winter. Another snowfall? And another?

I took the most recent cozy-infused snowy day (I should be used to it by now, having lived here in the upper midwest my entire life) and did what any baker-who-is-tired-of-winter would do: baked fresh bread. The house smelled heavenly for two days.

I’ve venturing my baking endeavors into the world of yeast-bread and kneading. There is nothing like a therapeutic eight-minute kneading session to get your winter blues and kinks worked out. And then the counter point to the knead is the waiting, waiting, waiting while the dough rises. And then rises again after a punch down and knead sesh. Next time I fully intend to try and actually wait the entire designated rising time. I was much too excited to get the honeybundle in the oven.

IMAG1339

This was actually my first crack at a mostly-original recipe (Though I think it’s quite lovely how all recipes are someone else’s with a one-two-punch of your own style). We have a family homemade bread recipe that was adapted from a church cookbook.  I took that recipe and combined it with this delightful treasure of a dinner roll recipe I found at {High Heels and Grills}.

I combined the two, healthified the grains involved, and added another twist: Honey butter rolled into a swirl and brushed, glaze style, on top of the loaf. Add homemade honey butter to any recipe and I. AM. IN.  This bread has yeast! and honey. and butter. It is {theoretically} made healthier by a tablespoon of flax seed mixed in.

Also, this bread makes the best toast. I un-do the aforementioned health factor when I spread a little butter and honey atop a slice right out of the toaster.

Oh yes. I believe the entire loaf lasted two days. Max. Maybe not even as long as the condo smelled like freshly baked bread! HoneyButterSwirlBread for breakfast, midday snack, packed in my lunch. Maybe one or two evening snacks {shh}.  Doesn’t take long to make short work of something this tasty, trust me.

It barely made it onto the cooling rack before I sliced into it!

It barely made it onto the cooling rack before I sliced into it!

Here we go:

Aly McCann’s HoneyButterSwirl Bread
Ingredients: 

  • 1-1/2 cups hot water {as hot as you can get it out of the tap.}
  • 1 Tbsp. active dry yeast
  • 2 Tbsp. sugar
  • 2 Tbsp. vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 3 cups bread flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 Tbsp ground flax seed
  • 3/8 cup (3/4 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 Tbsp. honey (mixed in bread) plus 3 Tbsp. honey for butter mixture. I might have added more because I LOVE honey.
  • 3/4 tsp. salt
Directions:
*Note: I mixed the dough in my stand mixture with my dough hook and it was the easiest thing ever. Hand mixing should work well too with a wooden spoon.
*Note II: Enlist a husband to do dishes after you finish. There are several bowls needed.

  1. Spray a large bowl with cooking spray; set aside.
  2. In a small bowl, mix together water, yeast, and sugar; let stand until frothy, about 5 minutes. It actually bubbles on the top! WOW!
  3. In a large bowl (NOT the aforementioned bowl, a different one hehe), combine the oil, salt, 1 Tbsp. of honey, 2 cups of bread flour, and the water-sugar-yeast mixture until well combined.
  4. Stir in the remaining bread flour, wheat flour, 1/2 cup at a time, and flax seed until the dough has pulled away from the sides of the bowl and is no longer sticky.
  5. Turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until elastic, about 8 minutes. I workout!!
  6. Place the dough in the greased bowl and cover with a damp cloth; let rise in a warm place until doubled in size. Be patient and actually wait.
  7. After doubled, punch down dough, bye-bye aggression, and lay on floured surface.
  8. Preheat oven to 375°F.
  9. Roll dough out until about 20 inches by 8-9 inches. again, ish. the width that your pan is long, if that makes sense. You want a rectangle that when rolled up will fit in your loaf pan.
  10. In a small bowl, combine butter, honey, and salt.
  11. Brush dough with half-ish of the butter mixture.
  12. Roll the dough back toward you so that you have a log that will fit in the loaf pan.
  13. Place the loaf-log into a greased loaf pan (I think mine is 8×4).
  14. Brush with the remaining butter mixture.
  15. Bake for 30-35 minutes or until golden brown.
  16. Serve warm.
My favorite part is when the loaf is right out of the oven and it has a caramelized glaze all over it. Mmm-mm good. Almost donut like. And healthy (healthy is a loosely-used term here)!
Enjoy and here’s to baking away the winter blahs!
xoxo
Aly
3 thoughts on “HoneyButterSwirl Bread

Leave a Reply

