Places to Go, Things to Do… Como Conservatory

When family visits and it’s rainy and chilly, where do Minnesotans turn? The Como Zoo Conservatory.   A few weeks ago, when my sister, her husband, and both of my parents were in town for the weekend, we took a break from eating out at our favorite places to enjoy the most incredible indoor green space in the city.

DSC_0019

I took copious amounts of photos. We’re talking in the hundreds. Snap happy, I believe it’s called. That’s part of the reason I’ve taken ages to write this post – I’ve been getting my photos to look their prettiest, and narrowing down the selection a wee bit. To a whopping 34.

The warm, tropical air in the gardens brought peace to my winter-worn lungs and soul.  There were some flowers too, especially in the fancy “Sunken Garden,” a popular wedding spot here in the city, but I was mostly enthralled by the palms and lush greenness that simply overwhelmed my senses. The smell envelops you, much like going to the greenhouse as a kid with Mom to buy plants. Except this was way prettier and aesthetically delicious. Also, the conservatory only asks for a voluntary donation (Read, free Saturday afternoon activity!!).

Once the animals at the Zoo part of Como start to come out of their indoor enclosures, we’ll make a return trip to this north-side gem.  And MOST definitely we will return at least monthly next winter to get our dose of humidity and tropical greens.

Now that it’s not winter anymore and we have our own little humid greenhouse of a town, I find myself stopping every few yards or so on our walks to smell the spring green blossoming all around me. Kind of slows the progress of our walks, but with people stopping to pet our little pup just about as frequently, it hardly seems to bother us.

Happy spring-almost-summer! Go green 🙂

DSC_0025

My family backdropped by grey grey grey. Perfect opportunity to visit a green space.

My family backdropped by grey grey grey. Perfect opportunity to visit a green space.

DSC_0027

The view when you walk in. Take a deep breath. Paradise in the city.

Directions.

Directions.

Thanks for taking this one, Mom!

Thanks for taking this one, Mom!

DSC_0051

St. Francis at the pond.

St. Francis at the pond.

Mmmmm, sugar.

Mmmmm, sugar.

These reminded me of truffula trees!

These reminded me of truffula trees!

Black and white coy pond. Can you spot the fish?

Black and white koi pond. Can you spot the fish?

peeking through the palm!

Peeking through the palm!

DSC_0087

Feeling lucky at the reflecting pool.

DSC_0097

Drippy and green!

DSC_0091

Can you tell where the pond ends and the ferns begin?

Can you tell where the ferns stop and the pond begins?

Hah! This tree has toes.

Hah! This tree has toes.

Swirly roots. or branches?

The bonsai tree exhibit was delicate and leafy. Some of the trees were fifty years old!!

DSC_0068

DSC_0070

DSC_0074

Flower time!

DSC_0137

DSC_0099

DSC_0135

DSC_0076

DSC_0062

DSC_0045

The best part of the trip was the people who came with.

Lovebirds.

Lovebirds.

I was there too!

I was there too!

This was in the sunken garden. Smelled like spring and looks like two of my favorite people ever.

This was in the sunken garden. Smelled like spring and looks like two of my favorite people ever.

Lovely parents.

Lovely parents.

Moustachioed friend in the apes exhibit.

A moustachioed friend in the apes exhibit.

Peekaboo.

Peekaboo.

Double photobomb!

Double photobomb!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

