Wild and Precious

I stumbled across an excerpt of “Summer Day” first via Pinterest, then investigated further the origin of the words through trusty old Google. I was delighted at the lightheartedness, thoughtfulness, and depth found in Mary Oliver’s wise words. 

 

wild and precious
 

The Summer Day

By: Mary Oliver

Who made the world?

Who made the swan, and the black bear?

Who made the grasshopper?

This grasshopper, I mean-

the one who has flung herself out of the grass,

the one who is eating sugar out of my hand,

who is moving her jaws back and forth instead of up and down-

who is gazing around with her enormous and complicated eyes.

Now she lifts her pale forearms and thoroughly washes her face.

Now she snaps her wings open, and floats away.

I don’t know exactly what a prayer is.

I do know how to pay attention, how to fall down

into the grass, how to kneel down in the grass,

how to be idle and blessed, how to stroll through the fields,

which is what I have been doing all day.

Tell me, what else should I have done?

Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?

Tell me, what is it you plan to do

with your one wild and precious life?

This poem makes my heart dance. It motivates me to try new things. To seize the day.

Mary Oliver makes me want to appreciate every little grace given to me, from the soft snores of a contented puppy to the lilac and mango colored brush strokes across the sky as a hazy summer sun sets over the Mississippi.  The world needs more stopping, wondering, appreciating, smiling and gumption.

Seemingly, we have all day, summer, year, lifetime to accomplish our goals. Many people meander through their day to day business, steeped in monotonous routines that shape their words and actions.  I love a perfectly good routine as much as anybody. Routines breed comfort. What I love even more, though, is breaking my routines. Newness. Learning. Beauty.

This poem, especially in the last few lines, poses a counter-cultural idea. It is not our routines, nor external factors that decide how meaningful our lives will be.  Rather, it is each human who has that incredible power. Each of us has to work and play and be passionate about whatever it is that makes us feel alive. We are in charge. It is courage and the aforementioned gumption that allow us to embrace that which makes us feel fulfilled. Ideally, this calling hopefully not only brings joy to ourselves, but a love and kindness to those we meet.

Are you living your one wild and precious life?

Like clouds floating by in a crisp blue sky, each day passes us at a faster pace than the day before. I won’t argue you can stop time to figure out what it is that makes life full for you. Try to notice when you are happiest. What are you doing? Who are you with? There can be many things that ignite this fire in you. Lately, I have found joy in growing artistically through my photography adventures in this city o’ mine.

DSC_0220

My loves, we are only given one wild and precious life. What is it that you plan to do with yours?

2 thoughts on “Wild and Precious

  1. So, so well written! It really spoke to me and the stage of life I am in. I am just now paying attention to my happiness probably because I have never been this happy in my life with all the love around me. I am working at letting all the other things go. A part of this is patience in hoping for your dreams. Happiness is also in the tiniest details of your day. Thanks for sharing! By the way, did you take that photo of the clouds? So awesome! I am practicing today on taking photos of movement. Wish me luck =) Do you have any good photography 101 sites you recommend?

    Carmen

    • It is hard to have patience when what you want requires hard work {and lots of it!} We are so surrounded by instant gratification! You are right that happiness can be found in the littlest of details and the grandest of life’s accomplishments. It’s in the heart and seeking eyes that it’s found.
      Yep, I took that picture! We were at our cabin over the fourth and the sky was the bluest of blues.
      Good luck honing in on the shutter speed to catch those movement shots! I’ll have to get back to you on the photography sites. Still browsing my Nikon manual/supplements in all their techy jargon in order to tame the beast. 🙂 Happiness and sunshine to you!

Leave a Reply

