Crosby Farm Park Adventures

After my first photography class, my brain went into super hyper photographer drive. All I wanted to do was take pictures, amaaaaaazing pictures, instantly.  Everywhere. Of everything. Naturally, since I just started this adventure, I should be producing photos of exquisite beauty. Right? You know, with all of my beginner’s luck and raw artistic talent.

IMG_0500

There is something to be said about having an eye for composing a photo. But there is also at least fifty things to coordinate and be thinking of and focusing on {hah!} for each picture. My instructor told us that each photo stores over 100 pieces of digital information. Or 1000. Lots. This coordination does not come completely naturally.

Enter good, old-fashioned practice. And some humble pie. {mmm pie}

DSC_0203

I made my way to Crosby Farm park, a former farm now city park with over 700 acres of trees, wildlife, and flowers, begging me to capture their breath of life and beauty for a moment. It has almost 7 miles of trails and is located right on the Mississippi. They forgot to mention on the welcome sign how many mosquitoes are included in that description. Regardless, I parked and embarked with my camera, puppy, and loads of humble pie flavored ambition.

I didn’t have to go far to notice things worth capturing on {digital} film. The slight breeze and shadows in the trees made it easier for me to try fiddling with my shutter speeds while the little path-side blossoms {and Huckleberry} gave me aperture practice opportunities.

{1} Here are photos that I took with different aperture settings. This has to do with varying the depth of field. Also, I included some of the {messy} not quite perfect shots so you know it’s not all a piece of cake. {mmm cake}

DSC_0206

DSC_0207

My favorite.

My favorite of the white flowers.  A very low aperture setting makes the background and foreground blurred.

DSC_0216

DSC_0217

DSC_0218

DSC_0213

DSC_0219

DSC_0220

DSC_0221

DSC_0259

DSC_0235

DSC_0236

DSC_0237

{2} Here are some photos that I took when playing with the “S” setting {adjusting the shutter speed, which changes amount of light let in to a photo}.

DSC_0244

This is where we turned around… cleaning a muddy puppy was not on my to-do list for the day.

DSC_0238

DSC_0248

DSC_0249
DSC_0250

Short shutter speed. I think around 1/400th of a second.

Short shutter speed. I think around 1/640th of a second.

Same area, medium shutter speed. 1/250 or so.

Same area, medium shutter speed. 1/400 or so.

Longer still. 1/125 of a second.

Longer still. 1/125 of a second. If I kept going, the shutter would be open too long and my wobbly elbows would have blurred the shot too much.

Also a neat tip I learned in class was to use the flash outdoors.  There are natural shadows cast on our subjects and the flash fills in these tiny details. For example, here is a Huckleberry shot with no flash:

DSC_0228

And then one with the flash:

DSC_0229

Is your mind blown? I thought it might be.

Needless to say, Mr. Huckleberry took a righteous nap after this excursion. Fresh air, tall grasses to chew, and wildlife to smell out makes for one tired pup.

Always curious.

Always curious.

DSC_0270

The eyes begin to droop.

DSC_0276

a little further…

"Please mom. I love you but no more pictures. Let's go home and nap."

“Please mom. I love you but no more pictures. Let’s go home and nap.”

DSC_0268

I’m looking forward to my DSLR II class next week!

xoxo

2 thoughts on “Crosby Farm Park Adventures

  1. Aly – I love this! You gave some very helpful tips. I’m still trying to manage all of these settings because it’s so much to remember. You’re right that it takes a lot to take one good photo. I love your explanation of aperture & shutter speed. This week our teacher had us practicing movement & high & low shutter speeds to freeze & stop motion (yes, there’s a difference!). You did a great job on your depth of field. You’ve mastered it! I redid my homework and will be posting my redone depth of field b/c I messed up the first time. You are very talented. Happy picture taking!

Leave a Reply

